4 Different Types of Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs)

Accountable Care

ACOs are a type of healthcare organization that is responsible for the care of a group of patients. They are accountable for the quality of care and the cost of care for their patients. By incorporating ACO healthcare, you not only improve communication among providers but also allow for more efficient use of resources. In this article, we will discuss the four different types of ACOs so that you can better understand how they work.

1. Integrated Delivery System

An integrated delivery system is a type of ACO that owns hospitals, physician practices, and insurance companies. This type of organization has well-aligned financial incentives and electronic medical records. Furthermore, team-based care and resources are available to support cost-effective care. Integrated delivery systems typically offer their services to a specific geographic area or region. The key benefit of this type of ACO is that it allows providers to work together more efficiently to improve patient care and outcomes.

2. Multispecialty Group Practice

A multispecialty group practice consists of multiple specialists who work together to provide care for patients. These specialists typically have contracts with multiple health plans. This type of ACO provides coordinated care and improved communication among providers. In addition, multispecialty group practices typically have electronic medical records that allow for more efficient care. You can think of this type of ACO as a team of specialists who work together to provide the best care possible for their patients.

3. Physician Health Organizations

Physical health organizations are made up of primary care physicians and specialists. These organizations typically have contracts with multiple health plans and offer services to patients in a variety of settings. Physician health organizations typically focus on preventive care and chronic disease management. In addition, these organizations often have electronic medical records that allow for more efficient care. The main advantage of this type of ACO is that it enables better coordination of care between primary care physicians and specialists.

4. Independent Practice Associations

An Independent Practice Association is a business entity that is owned by a network of independent physician practices. This type of organization often reduces overhead or pursues business ventures, such as contracts with employers, accountable care organizations (ACO), and/or managed care organizations (MCO). An IPA often provides opportunities for innovation in delivery system modeling and benefit design. And, IPA’s may accelerate important and necessary change in the healthcare industry.

To Conclude

These are the four types of accountable care organizations. Now that you know the different types of ACOs, you can decide which type is best for you and your patients. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact a professional. They will be able to help you decide which type of ACO is best for you. Thank you for reading!

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Business